Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: what a scam - I'm Shocked

  1. #1
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    1,665

    what a scam - I'm Shocked

    Found this on the net.
    Apparantly this dutch "Artist" named Avonte is claiming to be behind classic tracks by Howard Johnson, Mtume, 52nd Street and many others.

    How can this go unnoticed.
    Go to: http://artists.iuma.com/IUMA/Bands/A...omments-0.html

    Stream the songs and you'll as pissed as I am right now :evil: :x
    Somebody should take legal action against this
    There was life after disco!!

    www.njs4ever.com

  2. #2
    NickNack is offline Double Platinum Record [Level 9]
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    3,546
    Man, this has got to be a joke. I don't believe the gall of the so-called performer or the website. Are those people crazy? What about copyrights, plagiarism and all that stuff? Or is the industry so concerned about people downloading their music they don't care about "artists" who just blatantly rip them off? :roll:
    Love Has No Time or Place
    Nicky

  3. #3
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Frederick, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    5,169
    K-Bee,

    First off, a belated welcome to the forums. I found your link interesting, but I think it's just someone disguising MP3's for sharing and nothing more. There must be tons more like that if you look hard enough I guess.
    Bernie (Bernard Lopez)

    Owner/publisher of DiscoMusic.com - on the web since 1996.

    DiscoMusic.com on Facebook and MySpace

  4. #4
    NickNack is offline Double Platinum Record [Level 9]
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    3,546
    Quote Originally Written by Bernie
    K-Bee,

    First off, a belated welcome to the forums. I found your link interesting, but I think it's just someone disguising MP3's for sharing and nothing more. There must be tons more like that if you look hard enough I guess.
    That would make more sense. And then those people leaving comments about 'come check us out' and 'maybe we can hook up later' are just sharing. All right, Bernie. So your devious side has kicked in, eh?
    Love Has No Time or Place
    Nicky

  5. #5
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    1,665


     

     

    Bernie & Nicknack
    You may be right. It could just a disguise for mp3 sharing.
    but still, there's so many other ways of doing that and lots of them are way easier than this. Wy bother creating a scam like this when everyone can log on to Kazaa if downloading is what one want??

    What really pisses me off is the way people take credit for other people's work. The music may not be well known by the majority of the public today, but I guarantee you:
    If you "create" an artist like this "Avonte" person and put out Eminem's og J-Lo's music on the site somebody would react very quickly.
    There was life after disco!!

    www.njs4ever.com

Similar Threads

  1. I'm shocked!
    By Cory Ander in Disco Dance Music, Artists, DJs and History
    Replies: 0
    Last Entry: August 2nd, 2009, 02:27 PM
  2. E-Bay Scam. Beware!!
    By Karlos in Disco Dance Music, Artists, DJs and History
    Replies: 0
    Last Entry: November 19th, 2004, 05:56 AM
  3. im shocked to read the local news today !!!!!!
    By DISCODISK in Politics, Religion, Philosophy, Profound Current Events...
    Replies: 1
    Last Entry: June 21st, 2004, 02:59 AM

Bookmarks

Permissions

  • You may not Start New Discussions
  • You may not add a reply
  • You may not add attachments
  • You may not edit your entries
  •